Open main menu


"Geen artikelen geselecteerd"

Geen artikelen geselecteerd


Releasedatum: 26-06-2020
Herkomst: NL
Item-nr: 4102248
EAN: 0602567726951
Op voorraad Op werkdagen voor 16:00 besteld, morgen in huis.


Na zijn jarenlange verblijf bij CBS/Columbia en voor hij zijn American-albums maakte, maakte Johnny Cash een aantal albums voor Mercury, die weliswaar niet zijn bekendste zijn maar waarop genoeg te genieten valt. Class of ’55 bijvoorbeeld met Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison en Carl Perkins en het uitstekende Boom Chicka Boom. Handzaam bijeengebracht in een boxje op cd, maar ook op vinyl en op een verzamelalbum.

In the mid-1980s as Johnny Cash found himself between labels, Mercury Records snatched up the country legend for what would end up being a prolific string of six albums in five years. The records, released from 1986 to 1991, were a diverse collection that included a notable reunion with fellow Sun Records alumni Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins, star-studded collaborations with Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney, Glen Campbell, Waylon Jennings, Emmylou Harris, Hank Williams Jr. and others, inspired takes on songs from Elvis Costello, Guy Clark and Harry Chapin, the Man in Black revisiting his classic hits, and some of the finest songs ever written by Cash. Despite the quality of material, Cash’s stint with Mercury has never been revisited—until now.

On April 24, Cash's often overlooked and underappreciated chapter of his body of work will be showcased with a suite of releases via Mercury/UMe including a comprehensive new box set, The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991, and a new greatest hits album, Easy Rider: The Best Of The Mercury Recordings, a newly assembled collection that compiles 24 highlights selected from Cash's Mercury catalog. Easy Rider will be released as a single CD, double LP and digital download.

The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991, available on 7CD or 7LP on 180-gram vinyl, collects all six albums – Class of '55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming (1986), Johnny Cash Is Coming to Town (1987), Water from the Wells of Home (1988), Classic Cash: Hall of Fame Series (1988), Boom Chicka Boom (1990) and The Mystery of Life (1991), and – that Cash recorded during his Mercury tenure and presents them together for the first time in a handsome slipcase emblazoned with the distinctive bold Cash logo. All of the albums have been remastered from the original Mercury master tapes by noted engineer Kevin Reeves at UMG Studios Nashville. The set was assembled by Grammy Award-winning producer Bill Levenson and features extensive new liner notes by veteran music journalist Scott Schinder.

Also on April 24, all of the albums will be released individually on 180-gram black vinyl, with Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series as a two-LP set. This marks the first time that Cash's Mercury albums have been reissued.

The CD version of The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991 is augmented with several rare or previously unreleased tracks and an additional 20-track disc of spare early mixes aptly titled Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series (Early Mixes), mastered from tapes newly discovered in the Mercury vaults. Although these never-before-heard versions are not included in the vinyl box, they're being released on April 18 as a Record Store Day exclusive, as a stand-alone limited edition double LP.

The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991 and Easy Rider: The Best Of The Mercury Recording represent an overdue deep dive into Johnny Cash's Mercury catalog, revealing its importance as the bridge between his better-known work for other labels. As mentioned by Schinder in the box set’s liner notes, these recordings “stand as a notable transitional body of work, and an illuminating prelude to the full-blown creative resurgence that Cash would experience in the 1990s.”
Recensent : Ron Bulters
Datum : 23-06-2020
verschenen in Platomania : 368


    Disc 1
  1. Birth Of Rock And Roll
  2. Sixteen Candles
  3. Class Of '55
  4. Waymore's Blues
  5. We Remember The King
  6. Coming Home
  7. Rock And Roll (Fais-Do-Do)
  8. Keep My Motor Running
  9. I Will Rock And Roll With You
  10. Big Train (From Memphis)
  11. Disc 3
  12. Ballad Of A Teenage Queen
  13. As Long As I Live
  14. Where Did We Go Right
  15. The Last Of The Drifters
  16. Call Me The Breeze
  17. That Old Wheel
  18. Sweeter Than The Flowers
  19. A Croft In Clachan (The Ballad Of Rob Macdunn)
  20. New Moon Over Jamaica
  21. Water From The Wells Of Home
  22. Ballad Of A Teenage Queen (Alternate Mix)
  23. That Old Wheel (Alternate Mix)
  24. Disc 5
  25. Sunday Morning Coming Down (Early Mix, 1987)
  26. Get Rhythm (Early Mix, 1987)
  27. I Walk The Line (Early Mix, 1987)
  28. Long Black Veil (Early Mix, 1987)
  29. I Still Miss Someone (Early Mix, 1987)
  30. Blue Train (Early Mix, 1987)
  31. I Got Stripes (Early Mix, 1987)
  32. Peace In The Valley (Early Mix, 1987)
  33. Five Feet High And Rising (Early Mix, 1987)
  34. Folsom Prison Blues (Early Mix, 1987)
  35. Cry, Cry, Cry (Early Mix, 1987)
  36. Don't Take Your Guns To Town (Early Mix, 1987)
  37. Tennessee Flat Top Box (Early Mix, 1987)
  38. A Thing Called Love (Early Mix, 1987)
  39. The Ways Of A Woman In Love (Early Mix, 1987)
  40. Ballad Of Ira Hayes (Early Mix, 1987)
  41. Guess Things Happen That Way (Early Mix, 1987)
  42. Home Of The Blues (Early Mix, 1987)
  43. Supper Time (Early Mix, 1987)
  44. Ring Of Fire (Early Mix, 1987)
  45. Disc 7
  46. The Greatest Cowboy Of Them All
  47. I'm An Easy Rider
  48. The Mystery Of Life
  49. Hey Porter
  50. Beans For Breakfast
  51. Goin' By The Book
  52. Wanted Man
  53. I'll Go Somewhere And Sing My Songs Again
  54. The Hobo Song
  55. Angel And The Badman
  56. The Wanderer (From "faraway, So Close!" Soundtrack)
    Disc 2
  1. The Big Light
  2. The Ballad Of Barbara
  3. I'd Rather Have You
  4. Let Him Roll
  5. The Night Hank Williams Came To Town
  6. Sixteen Tons
  7. Letters From Home
  8. W. Lee O'daniel (And The Light Crust Dough Boys)
  9. Heavy Metal (Don't Mean Rock And Roll To Me)
  10. My Ship Will Sail
  11. Disc 4
  12. Get Rhythm (1988 Version)
  13. Tennessee Flat Top Box (1988 Version)
  14. Long Black Veil (1988 Version)
  15. A Thing Called Love (1988 Version)
  16. I Still Miss Someone (1988 Version)
  17. Cry, Cry, Cry (1988 Version)
  18. Blue Train (1988 Version)
  19. Sunday Morning Coming Down (1988 Version)
  20. Five Feet High And Rising (1988 Version)
  21. Peace In The Valley (1988 Version)
  22. Don't Take Your Guns To Town (1988 Version)
  23. Home Of The Blues (1988 Version)
  24. Guess Things Happen That Way (1988 Version)
  25. I Got Stripes (1988 Version)
  26. I Walk The Line (1988 Version)
  27. Ring Of Fire (1988 Version)
  28. Ballad Of Ira Hayes (1988 Version)
  29. The Ways Of A Woman In Love (1988 Version)
  30. Folsom Prison Blues (1988 Version)
  31. Supper Time (1988 Version)
  32. Disc 6
  33. A Backstage Pass
  34. Cat's In The Cradle
  35. Farmer's Almanac
  36. Don't Go Near The Water
  37. Family Bible
  38. Harley
  39. I Love You Love You
  40. Hidden Shame
  41. Monteagle Mountain
  42. That's One You Owe Me
  43. Veteran's Day
  44. I Shall Be Free
  45. I Draw The Line
  46. A Backstage Pass (Early Version)
  47. Harley (Early Version)
  48. That's One You Owe Me (Early Version)
  49. Veteran's Day (Early Version)