Open main menu


Geen artikelen geselecteerd


• The complete Staple Singers’ Stax Studio album output (6 albums) + 1 disc of rarities & non-album singles
• Deluxe booklet with new liners, featuring archival photos and new liner notes by Levon Williams & Langston Wilkins
• Newly-remastered from the original analog master tapes featuring original album artwork

Toen The Staple Singers in 1968 voor Stax tekenden was de groep al een gerenommeerde act in het gospel circuit. Roebuck “Pops” Staples, met zijn dochters Cleotha and Mavis en zoon Pervis (later vervangen door zus Yvonne) waren dat circuit echter al lang ontgroeid en de sociale en politieke omstandigheden in 1968 inspireerden de groep tot ander materiaal, waardoor ze een van de grote voorvechters werden in de Civil Rights Movement. Alle zes albums die ze maakten voor Stax zijn in deze box verzameld en er is een zevende schijf toegevoegd met rarities en tracks die niet op een van de albums staan. The Staple Singers kregen dikke hits met I’ll Take You There, Respect Yourself en If You’re Ready (Come Go with Me) maar ook het overige werk is ijzersterk vooral dankzij de verpletterende stem van Mavis. Essentieel.
Door Bert Dijkman op


Disc 1
1. We've Got To Get Ourselves Together
2. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
3. Top Of The Mountain
4. Slow Train
5. The Weight
6. Long Walk To D.c.
7. Got To Be Some Changes Made
8. The Ghetto
9. People, My People
10. I See It
11. This Year
Disc 2
1. We'll Get Over
2. Give A Damn
3. Everyday People
4. The End Of Our Road
5. Tend To Your Own Business
6. Solon Bushi (Japanese Folk Song)
7. The Challenge
8. God Bless The Children
9. Games People Play
10. A Wednesday In Your Garden
11. The Gardener
12. When Will We Be Paid
Disc 3
1. This Is A Perfect World
2. What's Your Thing
3. You've Got To Earn It
4. You're Gonna Make Me Cry
5. Little Boy
6. How Do You Move A Mountain
7. Almost
8. I'm A Lover
9. Love Is Plentiful
10. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)
11. I Like The Things About You
12. Give A Hand - Take A Hand
Disc 4
1. This World
2. Respect Yourself
3. Name The Missing Word
4. I'll Take You There
5. This Old Town (People In This Town)
6. We The People
7. Are You Sure
8. Who Do You Think You Are? (Jesus Christ The Super Star)
9. I'm Just Another Soldier
10. Who
Disc 5
1. Be What You Are
2. If You're Ready (Come Go With Me)
3. Love Comes In All Colors / Tellin' Lies (Medley)
4. Touch A Hand, Make A Friend
5. Drown Yourself
6. I Ain't Raisin' No Sand
7. Grandma's Hands
8. Bridges Instead Of Walls
9. I'm On Your Side
10. That's What Friends Are For
11. Heaven
Disc 6
1. Back Road Into Town
2. City In The Sky
3. Washington We're Watching You
4. Something Ain't Right
5. Today Was Tomorrow Yesterday
6. My Main Man
7. There Is A God
8. Blood Pressure
9. If It Ain't One Thing It's Another
10. Who Made The Man
11. Getting Too Big For Your Britches
Disc 7
1. Stay With Us
2. Brand New Day (Theme From The United Artists Motion Picture "the Landlord")
3. Walking In Water Over Our Head
4. O La De Da
5. I Got To Be Myself
6. Trippin' On Your Love
7. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom) (Live At Wattstax / August 20Th, 1972)
8. Are You Sure (Live At Wattstax / August 20Th, 1972)
9. I Like The Little Things About You (Live At Wattstax / August 20Th, 1972)
10. Respect Yourself (Live At Wattstax / August 20Th, 1972)
11. I'll Take You There (Live At Wattstax / August 20Th, 1972)