gratis-verzending vanaf 75,- of afhalen in de winkels van Concerto en Plato voor 16:00 besteld morgen in huis Winkels Service



Label: BIS
Releasedatum: 01-05-2021
Herkomst: NL
Item-nr: 4254737
EAN: 7318599924533
Levertijd: Levertijd: Onbekend


The award-winning Dutch composer and bass clarinet player Joris Roelofs is also currently working on a PhD dissertation on Friedrich Nietzsche, improvisation and the notion of freedom. On the album Rope Dance he is able to combine all of this, in a suite of twelve pieces inspired by Nietzsche – ‘by far the most musical of philosophers’ according to Roelofs. It is especially the parable of the tightrope walker in the opening section of ‘Thus Spoke Zarathustra: A Book for All and None’ that has provided him with inspiration for his own ‘Light-Footed Music for All and None’. It is not surprising that Nietzsche’s thoughts about free spirits, liberated from conventional constraints and belief systems, resonate particularly well with musicians working with improvisation and across genres. Roelofs has therefore been able to gather a group of highly versatile colleagues from the Benelux jazz scene to perform his music: pianist Bram de Looze, bass player Clemens van der Feen and Martijn Vink on drums. The album also confirms the multi-faceted talents of bassoonist Bram van Sambeek, following previous recordings on BIS of classical, pre-Romantic and contemporary concertos, as well as hard rock covers with the group ORBI (the Oscillating Revenge of the Background Instruments).
Door Redactie op


Disc 1
1. Beware The Buffoon!
2. Sweet Superman
3. Rope Dancer
4. Are Your Feet Light Enough?
5. If You Gaze Long Into An Abyss...
6. Off Balance
7. Eternal Recurrence
8. The Three Metamorphoses
9. ...the Abyss Will Gaze Back Into You
10. The Master Can't Dance
11. The Convalescent
12. The Laughing Child